h1

Interview: Shannon Flowers from Seattle Geekly

05 · 19 · 09

By @geekgirls

One of the first profiles that caught my attention on Twitter was @seattlegeekly, a weekly podcast dedicated to all things geek. Practically every tweet is a topic relevant to my “geeky” interests and contains great reference links as well as humor, which is a serious accomplishment in 140 characters or less.

I eventual subscribed to the podcast on iTunes and was hooked from the very first show. The show hosts, Shannon and Matt, are a hilarious couple with an incredible amount of geek knowledge and enthusiasm. The weekly topics are careful chosen and delivered with the perfect amount of honesty and wit, in a wide range of topics including comics, cons, movies, D&D and anime.

Shannon Flowers, co-host of Seattle Geekly, stands out not only as a woman in the forefront of online news media, but also in the geek community; which has traditionally been popularized by men. Shannon represents a growing population of women who are becoming actively involved in this community and making their presence known. I recently had the pleasure of interviewing her, even though she was fighting a miserable cold, and am pleased to present her geekgirl empowering answers.

 

Geek Girls Network: Were your geeky from the start?

Shannon Flowers: I was always into books as a kid, loved school and that sort of thing. When I was eight, I found my first Star Wars figure in a garden of a friend’s house and have been a collector since. I also collected and played with Barbies.  Sometimes Barbie would meet Han Solo…yeah I guess I was a geek from early on.

GGN: What was the deciding factor(s) for the creation of Seattle Geekly podcast?

SF: I listen to podcasts all the time at work. The people hosting podcasts seem to have so much fun! I listen to news shows, city-centric shows The Strip (Las Vegas), Five Hundy by Midnight (Las Vegas), audio novel podcasts FETIDUS, and various other podcasts. I thought “If they can do it, Matt and I can!” I came home from work one day and said to Matt, “Let’s make a podcast!” We talked about what we wanted the show to be about, how often we would need to record, and that sort of thing.

This April 29th, Matt and I celebrated our 20th anniversary from our first date. Since we know each other very well and both have been geeks, we decided that creating a podcast would be a great way to spend time together. We had NO idea it was going to take up so much time and energy, but we love doing it.

GGN: Do you have any major plans for Seattle Geekly down the road?

SF: We’d love to become the forefront for news and events for the Seattle geek scene. We’d love it if people came to our website or listened to the podcast to get info on things happening in and around the Northwest. I hope our topics and interviews would also get people to listen outside of the Seattle area, and we’d love to get into going and doing more geek things around the US and reporting on them.

GGN: In your spare time, if you have any, what geeky hobbies or activities interest you?

SF: I love my Xbox 360 and still read up a storm (both real books and audio books). I play World of Warcraft now and then. I’ll watch practically any movie I can get my hands on. We even have a “Dare Shannon to watch a bad movie” part of the podcast. People will email or call and dare me to watch a bad movie and I try to come up with at least 1 thing good to say about it. We’ve gotten some good (I mean bad) movie suggestions, but I love putting myself through the pain of watching them.

GGN: What geek thing, which you currently own, can you not live without?

SF: Right now, since we are sooo busy with the podcast and research, I really couldn’t live without my DVR. We almost NEVER watch live TV.

GGN: If you could meet anyone famous, who would it be and why?

SF: Hmm, I could go geeky or serious…what the heck, let’s do both.

Serious: I’d love to have met Queen Elizabeth the First. I’ve read hordes of books on the Tudors and love that she was powerful woman in a very much male-dominated time of the world. She’s always captured my curiosity in regards to how she dealt with being a monarch, but still portrayed her feminine side.

Geeky: I’d love to meet any movie star; Johnny Depp, Hugh Jackman, Simon Pegg, Ewan McGregor, Robert Downey Jr., or movie director; Kevin Smith, Quentin Tarantino, John Woo. I love media (TV & movies) and would love to meet some of the people I enjoy watched on that media. Practically everyone I mentioned has a slightly geeky related movie attached to them.

GGN: What is your favorite geeky moment?

SF: I have so many…I love when I get a new tech gadget. I just recently got an iPod Touch and am LOVING it! I love when new movies come out in the theater that I’ve been looking forward to. It seems that it’s going to be a nice geeky summer with Wolverine, Star Trek, Terminator, and the Harry Potter movies coming out. I also enjoy making geeky reference and the thrill when the person I’m talking to GETS it!

GGN: Do you consider yourself a role model for other geeky girls?

SF: I guess I do. I want to show girls that they can be geeks just as well as boys. Although we don’t have kids or are around kids very much, I hope that I do come across as a good role model. We do keep our podcast G or PG related, so I hope kids listen. We know that our friends’ son (11 years old) listens and is a fan of our show.

GGN: If you could tell the world one thing about the geeky community, what would it be?

SF: Actually I’d like to tell them 2 things!

First, geeks are great people. They may not be “normal” in some people’s eyes, but they are just really fans of stuff they like. They get a kick out of different things other than sports teams and such. And don’t forget, they fix your computers, so be nice!

Secondly, I’d like to tell the world that not all geeks are guys. There is an ever growing female demographic that are just as geeky as their counterparts. Geek girls need to remember that they still have a bit of “power” in the geek world. Haven’t you ever walked into a room full of geek guys and they looked at you like “OMG it’s a GIRL!”? We can still flaunt that as geek girls. If you were ever scared to go into your local comic shop, go now, and ask some questions… there will be TONS of guys to jump at the chance to help you!

 

Seattle Geekly is a weekly podcast that aspires to be a resource for geek culture in the Northwest, hosted by Shannon Flowers and Matt Hammond.

Shannon and Matt are Seattle natives who grew up nerdy and have finally found a way to give something back to the community which has meant so much to them over the years. If Seattle Geekly can hook one person up to one book, movie, TV show, game or event that they would not have otherwise found, it will be a success!

Visit Seattle Geekly online and make sure to add their podcast to your iTunes!

Make sure to follow Shannon online: Twitter, Live Journal, MySpace , AIM or search for her on Facebook.

5 comments

  1. Its a shame the general public dont appreciate the ‘geeks’ more. They will do more good for the world, then all the ‘cool people’ could ever imagine. Its an unfair society we live in ,but we must over come it!


  2. Great interview!

    Shannon has got to be my favorite podcast host of all time. She totally rocks!

    –A totally unbiased and impartial reader


  3. Hi, for some cause when i place your feed into google reader, it won?t operate. Are you able to give me the Rss link simply to be positive I?m using probably the most suitable one?


  4. If some one needs expert view concerning blogging
    and site-building then i suggest him/her to pay a quick visit this web site, Keep up the pleasant job.


  5. I Һave read ѕo manʏ articles сoncerning the
    blogger lovers Һowever thiѕ post is аctually a fastidious article,
    ҝeep іt սp.



Leave a Reply

