h1

Why I use Linux and how I got started

05 · 01 · 09

by @ bunnykins2

I use Linux both at work and at home because I am more productive and so I get a lot more work done in less time. I do not find myself fighting the operating system to do what I need to do or running constant spyware, adware, melware, and virus scans. I do enjoy using it as well and I feel much safer while using it. With Windows I feel I have to be behind more than one firewall; but with Linux I do not feel that way. I also find Linux runs faster than windows, although some distros do run slower than others.  
 
I want to talk about how I got into Linux now that I have told you why I use it. It started back when I was taking online classes for electronic repair, as that was what I wanted to do for a living and at the time was interning for a local TV repair shop. One day I was ordering books for my clases and was looking at a few computer repair books. That I thought might help me with my Windows ME computer that I had which was having all kinds of problems like blue screens and needed formated every 3 months. One computer book that I found was about Linux and it came with a red hat Linux CD.  So I purchased it and started reading the book and even tried to install red hat, which no matter how hard I tried I was unable to get it to install. Later on I purchased Mandrake Linux 8.2 on amazon.com and I was able to install that with no issues. Mandrake seemed more like a toy to play with now and again and did not seem like an operating system, and I was not using it full time yet and pretty much just playing with it when I had free time. It did come with some cool games like 3d Tron and Rocks and Diamonds, which I still enjoy today when I have time to play them.  
 
After getting a new computer with Windows XP, I almost stopped using Linux all together, although I was still dual booting between XP and Mandrake now called Mandriva. One day I ran across a Linux distro called Xandros and I gave it a try and I enjoyed it. It’s very easy to run and came with everything I needed for the work I was doing. I was even allowed to install it on the computer I use at work. I used Xandros until about 2 years ago when I could no longer find the free version on their site. So I went looking for a new one. I tried Ubuntu since a lot of people were talking about how great that one is. When I tried Ubuntu, I had a lot of issues with it and it took over 2 hours to get it set up to do what I wanted it to do. This was way different then the 5 minutes or so with Xandros. I then tried a distro called Mepis and that was a distro I liked and it did everything I wanted with very little set up. I used that for a year and then I tried a few others just because I wanted to see what else was out there. I left the computer at work using Mepis but installed a few on my home computer. One that was pretty easy to use was Ultima, which was discontinued several months ago. Puppy Linux was another easy one I used and fast too, I keep this one around as a tool to get files off of hard drives with damaged windows files. Absolute Linux is another easy one I use and still have installed on one of my computers at home. Opensuse Linux is one I am using right now at home on my main computer and the one I am using to type this up.  A few months back I switched my work computer from Mepis to Gentoo which I do like and a co-worker who also uses Linux uses.  
 
At the moment I do not run Windows unless I have to. I only have one computer using Windows right now and it’s a new one that came with Windows Vista. Windows Vista reminds me of Windows ME, except less Blue screens and less need for reinstall it every 3 months.

One comment

  1. Good write up, enjoyed reading it. I need to venture more into the Linux world. We use Unix at work for our Oracle apps, change management and connections so I shouldn’t be lost. 😉

    Thank you Amy for taking the time to write this, very informative.

    Donna



Leave a Reply

